Winners announced for 2017 NCPC awards

22 February 2017
The National Council for Palliative Care has announced the winners for its 2017 awards.

The awards were announced at the NCPC’s 25th anniversary event at the House of Lords on 22 February.

Over 90 entries were received for the four categories. The awards were presented by Joan, Baroness Bakewell, and Ilora, Baroness Finlay, chair of the NCPC trustees.

The winners were:

Bereavement Project of the Year - Recognising innovative projects supporting people during bereavementIslington Bereavement Service.


Dying Matters Awareness Initiative of the year - Recognising events and activities that raise awareness of the importance of talking about dying, death and bereavementLeeds Dying Matters Partnership and Brum YODO (joint award)


End of Life Care Champion(s) of the Year (sponsored by The Royal College of Nursing) - Recognising the contribution to end of life care from an individual or team at a local or national level - Felicity Warner, founder of Soul Midwives and the TLC Caring Communities’ Project

Effective Coordination of Care Award - Recognising effective person-centred coordination of end of life care - Wandsworth End of Life Care Coordination Centre. 


NCPC Chief Executive Claire Henry said “yet again we’ve been amazed by the range and quality of the entries, and all of them deserve recognition for the work they are doing. The winners all impressed with their passion, imagination and effort, and I hope that for everyone who entered is inspired to keep building on what they have done.”



More photos from the event can be viewed and downloaded here.  

Share your story

A central part of NCPC's work is listening to what people with personal experience of palliative and end of life care have to say. Please help us by sharing your story.

Share your story