Pathfinders and Buddies: The Dying Well Community Charter

We received 23 expressions of interest in becoming a Pathfinder community, and from these NCPC and PHE selected the eight Pathfinders, along with six additional ‘buddy’ communities who would be supported by a Pathfinder to launch and implement the Dying Well Community Charter in their areas.

Our Pathfinders and buddies are listed here, along with the contact details of a representative from each community, who you are welcome to contact if you have any questions:



St John’s Hospice, Lancaster District

Sue McGraw:

The End of Life Partnership, Cheshire East, Cheshire West, Chester Local Authority Areas

Rachel Zammit:

Weston Hospicecare, North Somerset

Susan Gerry-Riley:

Conscious Ageing Trust and Dorset Compassionate Community, Dorset

Dr Max Mackay-James:

Hackney Health and Wellbeing Board, Hackney

Michael Kerin:

Dove House Hospice, Hull and the East Riding of Yorkshire

Tania Wilson:

Birmingham Cross City (BCC) and Birmingham South Central (BSC) Clinical Commissioning Groups, Birmingham

Manjula Patel:

Liverpool Clinical Commissioning Group and Liverpool City Council, Liverpool

Sam Clements:



Bradford CCGs and Airedale, Wharfedale and Craven CCG, Bradford and Craven

Helen Livingstone:

North Derbyshire CCG and Hardwick CCG, Derbyshire

Hayley Wardle:

Bristol CCG, Bristol

Dr Kate Rush:

Wiltshire Council, Wiltshire CCG, Healthwatch Wiltshire, Dorothy House Hospice, Salisbury Hospice and Prospect Hospice, Wiltshire

Frances Chinemana:

London Borough of Barnet & Barnet CCG, Barnet

Dr Jeff Lake:

Lincolnshire County Council, Lincolnshire

Elizabeth Morgan: